Three Problems with Social Media

Three Kind of ironic to be writing a blog post about this, don’t you think? I struggle with social media, it’s a big love/hate thing. Here are three reasons for any hate:

  1. I waste so much time. I think we all do. Every once in a while I wonder what it would be like if instead of scrolling through Pinterest I read a book? Or spent less time on Facebook and wrote some more? I think we all have that nagging in the back of our minds. (So I’m sure I’m not the only one getting suckered back in.)
  2. The comparing game. As if I don’t do this often enough in my day-to-day life, all those hours of scrolling through Instagram are filled with comparing myself (and I’m never the one winning). “Maybe I should have a career more like his by now.” “God, I wish I could be as skinny as her.” It is so demeaning and I’m only doing it to myself.
  3. The obscene amount of pressure. So now after wasting precious time and dragging myself down, I want to post something. I just need to make sure it’s cute/funny/inspirational/cool enough first. Only not to get the same amount of likes as this other girl and to then spend hours stalking her account.
Leave a Reply

